All You Need is Shoes

Unless you’re some sort of gypsy hobo runner like me. I keep my run bag packed for every scenario, including an emergency requiring a matchbox car or three.

20120327-071916.jpg

I headed out for today’s Trail Tuesday run with my typical bag o’ gear: shoes, gu, water belt, garmin, post-run water and chocolate milk. At minimum I always have a clean t-shirt and towel to make myself passable for an errand or two. Today the luggage was a little heavier because I brought an entire change of clothes and some toiletries. Today I had a post-run birthday lunch for a friend to get to.

This particular friend, who hereby will be known as Jet Walker, has expressed her disapproval for my post-run sweaty gallivanting about town. She wishes I would not embrace my earthiness. Since it is her birthday I packed up the maximum amount of decontaminating gear. I was prepared for scenarios ranging from a park bathroom sponge bath to a YMCA shower stop to a floor of the van clothing change. Thankfully I had just enough time for the 10 minute ymca shower stop where I risked contracting athletes foot in the name of being invited back to lunch. You’re welcome, Jet Walker!

 

This entry was posted in Running Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All You Need is Shoes

  1. Jet Walker says:

    THANK YOU! I appreciated the shower and all of the effort that went into making yourself presentable and non-stinky! What a good friend you are.

Leave a Reply

